

International Society for Rock Mechanics

ISRM Council Meeting

Montréal, 10 May 2015

News Release

The International Society for Rock Mechanics held its Council meeting in Montréal, Canada, on 10 May, in conjunction with the 13th ISRM International Congress on Rock Mechanics, organised by the Canadian ISRM National Group. 49 out of the 59 National Groups were either present or represented. The Council was also attended by Past Presidents Professors Walter Wittke, Ted Brown, Charles Fairhurst, Shunsuke Sakurai, Nielen van der Merwe and John Hudson, chairmen of several ISRM Commissions and candidates to the new Board. In this unique occasion a group photo was taken of the Past Presidents, the current Board members and the members of the newly elected Board.



Membership of the ISRM

The ISRM has 7,797 individual members and 147 corporate members, belonging to 59 National Groups. Bulgaria, Romania, Zimbabwe and Iceland joined the Society since the last meeting. This represents an increase of 20% in the number of individual members and corporate members, and an increase of 23 % in the number of the National Groups since the last Congress in 2011. 40% of the members come from Europe and 32% from Asia, which has been the fastest growing region in the recent years.

The Board of the ISRM for 2015-2019 was elected

Following the election of Dr Eda Freitas de Quadros from Brazil for ISRM President 2015-2019 two years ago, the Council elected in Montréal the six Regional Vice Presidents: Dr William Joughin (South Africa) for Africa, Prof. Seokwon Jeon (Korea) for Asia, Dr Stuart Read (New Zealand) for Australasia, Prof. Charlie Li (Norway) for Europe, Prof. Doug Stead (Canada) for North America and Prof. Sérgio Fontoura (Brazil) for South America. The newly elected Board met immediately after the Council to elect Dr William Joughin as the 1st Vice President, to appoint Prof. He Manchao and Dr Petr Konicek as Vice Presidents at Large and to reappoint Dr Luís Lamas as Secretary General.

Rocha Medal 2015: winners were announced

The Rocha Award Committee selected the winner of the Rocha Medal 2016, Chia Weng Boon (Malaysia) with the thesis "Distinct Element Modelling of Jointed Rock Masses: Algorithms and their Verification" (Univ. Oxford) and two runners-up Silvia Duca (Italy) with the thesis "Design of an Experimental Procedure and Set Up for the Detection of Ice Segregation Phenomena in Rock by Acoustic Emissions" (Polit. di Torino) and Zhang Qianbing (China) with the thesis "Mechanical Behaviour of Rock Materials under Dynamic Loading" (Univ. Wollongong). The award will be given during the 2016 ISRM International Symposium in Turkey.

The 2017 ISRM International Symposium will take place in Cape Town, South Africa

The Council selected the symposium Afrirock 2017 "Rock Mechanics for Africa", in Cape Town, South Africa, as the venue of the 2017 ISRM International Symposium, following a vote by secret ballot, in competition with Eurock2017 in Ostrava, Czech Republic.

New ISRM Fellows will be inducted during the Congress

The Board, at its 2014 meeting in Sapporo, approved the names of the 10 new Fellows of the ISRM. The induction ceremony will take place during this Congress, at the beginning of the banquet. This grade of membership is conferred on individuals who have achieved outstanding accomplishment in the field of rock mechanics and who have contributed to the professional community through the ISRM.



















Activity report of the ISRM Board 2011-2015

The President Prof. Xia-Ting Feng presented the main achievements of the ISRM Board that will finish its 4 years term of office at the end of the Congress. In particular, he mentioned the growth of the Society, the launch last March of the multi-lingual technical glossary on Rock Mechanics that is available through the website, the online lectures, the upgrade of the ISRM website, the launch during this Congress of the 1st book of the ISRM book series, the selection of the first winners of two new awards for the best performing National Group and for the most outstanding ISRM Commission, and the 1st RockBowl game, that will take place on 12 May, during the Congress.

"Best Performing National Group Award"

For the first time the Board selected the winners of the Best Performing National Group Award. The National Groups of China and Singapore won the award, which will be conferred during the closing ceremony.



The Board 2011-2015 after its last meeting: ltr: L. Lamas (SG), Y.X. Zhou (VP Asia), A. Samaniego (VP S America), F. Hassani (chairman of the Congress Organising Committee), J. Lucas (VP Africa), S. Meess (Executive Secretary), J. Tinucci, (VP N America), Xia-Ting Feng (President), I. Vrkljan (VP at large), E. Quadros (President-elect), D. Beck (VP Australasia), Y. Onishi (VP at Large) and F. Pellet (VP Europe).

Activities of the ISRM Technical Commissions and "Outstanding Commission Award"

All the 18 ISRM Commissions met on 9 and 10 May. Prof. Yuzo Onishi, chairman of the Technical Oversight Committee, which coordinates the work of the Commissions, presented a report on the activities of all the Commissions during the past four years. He announced that an award for the most outstanding Commission was created by the Board. The first award, for the period 2011-2015, was given to the Commission on Testing Methods and to the Commission on Crustal Stresses and Earthquakes.

The 1st book of the ISRM book series was published

"Rock Engineering Risk" by John A. Hudson and Xia-Ting Feng, the current President and the immediate past President of the ISRM, is the 1st book of the ISRM book series, which includes 20 titles to be published in the near future. The book was published by CRC Press and will be launched during this Congress, on Monday, 11 May, during the coffee break, at 15h00, at the ISRM booth, where the authors will sign copies of the book.

The ISRM Digital Library

The ISRM Digital Library hosted by OnePetro.org, continues to be updated with papers from more ISRM sponsored conferences. It has now 35 conferences, with over 49,000 pages. Members can download 100 papers per year at no cost.

Communication

The ISRM website (<u>www.isrm.net</u>) was recently renewed. It is the main source of information about the Society and most benefits are offered to the members in a password protected members' area.



The ISRM Linkedin page helps disseminate ISRM news to a broad audience of Rock Mechanics professionals. Look for @IntSocRockMec. Add us to your Twitter feed and don't miss any news.

The digital newsletter is sent to all ISRM members and subscribers every 3 months. It includes news about the society and other news of interest to rock mechanics.

The latest issue of the **News Journal** contains the annual review of the Society's activity and other news of interest. It was posted on the website where it can be read online or it can be downloaded.





by successful ISBM Students 19aght dimer purty held in Suppose, Japan on 14 October 2014 as part of the AEMSS Symposium activities inval. Review. 2015 The of the ISBM Bases! The of the ISBM Bases!

and Technical Oversight Committee reports and ARMSS (Sapporo, Japan)

Volume 17 December 2014 See Table of Contents on Page