

ROCHA MEDAL 2026

Since 1982 a bronze medal and a cash prize have been **awarded annually by the ISRM** for an outstanding doctoral thesis in rock mechanics or rock engineering, to honour the memory of Past President Manuel Rocha while stimulating researchers.





In addition to the Rocha Medal award to the winning submission, one or two runner-up certificates may also be awarded. An invitation is now extended to the rock mechanics community for nominations for the Rocha Medal 2026.

Full details about the Rocha Medal are provided in ISRM By-law No. 7, and all relevant information can be obtained from the ISRM website - isrm.net.

Application

To be considered for an award the candidate must be nominated within two years of the date of the official doctorate degree certification.

Nominations shall be by the nominee, or by the nominee's National Group, or by some other person or organization acquainted with the nominee's work.

Nominations shall be sent electronically, addressed to the Secretary-General, and shall contain:

- a one page curriculum vitae, including nationality information;
- a written confirmation by the candidate's National Group that he/she is a member of the ISRM;
- a thesis summary, written in English, with between 5,000 and 10,000 words, detailed enough to convey the

full impact of the thesis and accompanied by selected tables and figures, and information on word count;

- · one copy of the complete thesis;
- · one copy of the doctorate degree certificate;
- a letter of copyright release, allowing the ISRM to copy the thesis for purposes of review and selection only;
- an undertaking by the nominee to submit an article describing the work, for publication in the ISRM News Journal.

Application Deadline

The nomination must reach the ISRM Secretary-General by 31 December 2024.

Past Recipients

t recipients						
	1982	A.P. Cunha	PORTUGAL	2003	L.M. Andersen	SOUTH AFRICA
	1983	S. Bandis	GREECE	2004	G. Grasselli	ITALY
	1984	B. Amadei	FRANCE	2005	M. Hildyard	UK
	1985	P.M. Dight	AUSTRALIA	2006	D. Ask	SWEDEN
	1986	W. Purrer	AUSTRIA	2007	H. Yasuhara	JAPAN
	1987	D. Elsworth	UK	2008	Z.Z. Liang	CHINA
	1988	S. Gentier	FRANCE	2009	G. Li	CHINA
	1989	B. Fröhlich	GERMANY	2010	J.C. Andersson	SWEDEN
	1990	R.K. Brummer	SOUTH AFRICA	2011	D. Park	REP. OF KOREA
	1991	T.H. Kleine	AUSTRALIA	2012	M.T. Zandarin	ARGENTINA
	1992	A. Ghosh	INDIA	2013	M. Pierce	CANADA
	1993	O. Reyes W.	PHILIPPINES	2014	M.S.A. Perera	AUSTRALIA
	1994	S. Akutagawa	JAPAN	2015	A.L. Bradley	ITALY
	1995	C. Derek Martin	CANADA	2016	C.W. Boon	MALAYSIA
	1996	M.P. Board	USA	2017	Bryan Tatone	CANADA
	1997	M. Brudy	GERMANY	2018	M. du Plessis	SOUTH AFRICA
	1998	F. Mac Gregor	AUSTRALIA	2019	Q. Lei	CHINA
	1999	A. Daehnke	SOUTH AFRICA	2020	J. Shang	CHINA
	2000	P. Cosenza	FRANCE	2021	Y. Yasuhiro	JAPAN
	2001	D.F. Malan	SOUTH AFRICA	2022	R.S. De Silva	SRI LANKA
	2002	M.S. Diederichs	CANADA	2023	J. Zhao	CHINA
				2024	K. Sawayama	JAPAN